No Google is not really going to blackmail you for not signing up for Google Plus. Colleghumor points out that the search engine company sure does have the capabilities to do so.

I mean think about it, all the things you clicked 'allow' on when something popped up, Google maps and if you use the web brower Chrome - their ever famous 'Incognito Mode.' They can do it, but they wouldn't, would they?