Contact Us

Former My Chemical Romance Singer Gerard Way to Release ‘Hesitant Alien’ Solo Album

Subscribe to KZCD-FM on

It was a little over a year ago (March 22, 2013) when My Chemical Romance‘s members confirmed that they were going their separate ways. Now, after taking some time off before jumping into new music again, frontman Gerard Way is ready to resurface with his debut solo disc, ‘Hesitant Alien.’

The album will arrive on Sept. 30 via Warner Bros. Records and fans can go to Gerard Way’s website on Aug. 19 to pre-order this disc in a variety of format and bundle options. Those who purchase the disc will instantly receive the track ‘No Shows’ as an instant download. A video for ‘No Shows’ is also set to arrive on Aug. 19.

Luckily we don’t have to wait until mid-August to hear some of Gerard’s new music. The song ‘Action Cat’ has already been released and fans can take a listen to the driving, fuzzed-out rock track in the player above.

Way says of the Doug McKean-produced album, “I wanted to make the small things sound big. My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument, the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school — Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein — and I drew a lot of influence from shoe-gaze and Britpop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people.” Way also cites Pulp’s Jarvis Cocker, Blur’s Damon Albarn and The Pixies’ Frank Black as influences on his work.

Way will make his return to the stage on Aug. 22 and 23 playing the Reading and Leeds festivals in the U.K.

Gerard Way, ‘Hesitant Alien’ Track Listing

1. ‘Bureau’
2. ‘Action Cat’
3. ‘No Shows’
4. ‘Casting Shadows’
5. ‘Millions’
6. ‘Zero Zero’
7. ‘Juarez’
8. ‘Drugstore Perfume’
9. ‘Get the Gang Together’
10. ‘How’s It Going to Be’
11. ‘Maya the Psychic’

10 Best My Chemical Romance Songs

Best of Z94

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for Z Army quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive Z Army contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.