We recently reported that Down offered a stream of their new track ‘Witchtripper.’ Now, the band has revealed the actual title and album art for their upcoming EP.

Their forthcoming disc is titled ‘Down IV Part I – The Purple EP,’ which is due out Sept. 18 via Down Records/Independent Label Group. It will be the band’s first batch of new tunes in five years since the release of ‘Down III: Over the Under.’

In an interview with Full Metal Jackie, Down frontman Phil Anselmo expressed his frustration on deciding a title for the new EP. “Well the new Down EP which I’m having this incredible title block, cannot think of a damn name for this friggin EP and it’s driving me bananas but going into this recording session – we all had this idea of just a no nonsense straight-forward record” says Anselmo.

Fortunately the band has decided on a name and the eerie album art enhances the intensity of the release, which will be the first EP out of a four disc series.

Not only does Down feature Phil Anselmo of Pantera, but also Corrosion of Conformity guitarist Pepper Keenan, drummer Jimmy Bower of Eyehategod, guitarist Kirk Windstein of Crowbar and Kingdom of Sorrow and former Goatwhore bassist Patrick Bruders (also of Eyehategod), who replaced Rex Brown in 2011. Fans will get to see this metal supergroup when they embark on a fall tour; for a full list of dates and cities, go here.

‘Down IV Part I – The Purple EP’ Tracklisting:

1. ‘Levitation’
2. ‘Witchtripper’
3. ‘Open Coffins’
4. ‘The Curse Is a Lie’
5. ‘This Work Is Timeless’
6. ‘Misfortune Teller’

More From KZCD-FM