Punk rock icon Iggy Pop has returned with a new song, "Frenzy," and an album announcement.

"Frenzy," the first fruits of the 75-year-old singer's work with producer Andrew Watt, features musical backing from Guns N' Roses' Duff McKagan and Red Hot Chili Peppers' Chad Smith. And in the tune's refrain, Iggy sounds just as pissed off as he ever was.

"I'm in a frenzy / You fuckin' prick / I'm in a frenzy / You goddamn dick."

Watt, who plays guitar on the song, tells Zane Lowe on Apple Music 1, "The first line of the song cannot make you not hysterically laugh. I mean, it is Iggy as it gets."

The producer continues, "I'm such a fan of The Stooges. I'm such a fan of the records he made with [David] Bowie. I love Kill City. … I just got with Duff and Chad who are… I'm like, 'Okay, who do I want to do this with? Who loves Iggy?' Chad is Detroit, man — he is from Detroit. Iggy is his hero."

"Frenzy" is the first track on Every Loser, Iggy's forthcoming album for Watt's Gold Tooth Records. And Ozzy Osbourne fans will recognize the team of Watt, McKagan and Smith as having worked together on the former Black Sabbath vocalist's Patient Number 9 (2022) and Ordinary Man (2020). Watt came to prominence producing material for pop artists such as Post Malone and Lana Del Rey.

Listen to "Frenzy" below. Every Loser arrives Jan. 6, 2023. See the album art and track list under the video.

NEW MUSIC PLAYLIST: Keep up with each week's rock and metal releases by liking Loudwire's "Weekly Wire" playlist on Spotify, updated weekly with 50 new songs.

Iggy Pop, "Frenzy" (Official Audio)

Every Loser Album Artwork + Track Listing

Every Loser album artwork
Gold Tooth

1. "Frenzy"
2. "Strung Out Johnny"
3. "New Atlantis"
4. "Modern Day Rip Off"
5. "Morning Show"
6. "The News for Andy"
7. "Neo Punk"
8. "All the Way Down"
9. "Comments"
10. "My Animus Interlude"
11. "The Regency"

25 Rock + Metal Bands Whose Singer Is the Only Original Member Left

The following bands no longer have any original members left except the lead singer.

More From KZCD-FM