Metallica will release a rare live and acoustic album in early 2019. Helping Hands… Live & Acoustic at the Masonic was recorded at the inaugural Helping Hands Benefit Concert in San Francisco back on November 3, and will now be offered up as a vinyl release for fans.

The effort features unique acoustic performances of Metallica songs “Enter Sandman,” “The Unforgiven,” "Disposable Heroes” and “Hardwired,” as well as covers of Deep Purple’s “When a Blind Man Cries,” Nazareth’s “Please Don’t Judas Me,” Bob Seger’s “Turn the Page” and Blue Oyster Cult’s “Veterans of the Psychic Wars.”

The double album was mixed by Greg Fidelman and mastered for vinyl by Reuben Cohen. It will be released on Feb. 1 as a 140 gram colored vinyl LP with a download card. The effort will also be released digitally and on streaming services that support Metallica’s music. Fans can pre-order the effort here.

In addition to the vinyl pre-order, Metallica’s Giving Tuesday offerings will include a limited-edition etched glass featuring the iconic Pushead artwork for “One,” with all net proceeds donated to the band's charity All Within My Hands. 

Metallica’s held the first All Within My Hands Helping Hands Concert and Auction, back on Nov. 3, which raised more than $1.3 million. Those resources will fund AWMH’s efforts with partners at Feeding America and the American Association of Community Colleges. The mission of AWMH is to fight hunger and to assist in creating sustainable communities through workforce education. One hundred percent of all proceeds from the event and subsequent sales of the live album will go to directly to the charity.

Metallica have been in the giving mood lately as the group donated $50,000 each to the North Valley Community Foundation and the Los Angeles Fire Department foundation to help out those affected by the California wildfires.

Metallica, Helping Hands…Live & Acoustic at The Masonic track listing:

Disc One / Side A
01. “Disposable Heroes”
02. “When a Blind Man Cries”
03. “The Unforgiven”

Disc One / Side B
04. “Please Don’t Judas Me”
05. “Turn the Page”

Disc Two / Side C
06. “Bleeding Me”
07. “Veteran of the Psychic Wars”
08. “Nothing Else Matters”

Disc Two / Side D
09. “All Within My Hands”
10. “Enter Sandman”
11. “The Four Horsemen”
12. “Hardwired”

Metallica Songs Ranked

More From KZCD-FM