The sultans of slam, Misery Index, are back at it. Their sixth album, Rituals of Power, will be out on March 8 and you can get another preview with the third single, "The Choir Invisible," premiering here at Loudwire.

If you've heard Misery Index before, you know what you're in for — a neck-snapping journey through tight grooves, crunching riffs and the undeniable urge to put your fist through a couple layers of sheetrock. We've all been there before, right? Hit play on the lyric video above (by Scott Rudd with illustrations by Caelan Stokkermans) and see if you've got it in you.

"'The Choir Invisible' is a euphemism for the dead, or those who have passed on. In the context of this song, it is an anthem of the dispossessed and the hopeless," states the band, adding, "Many across the world exist in an ‘in-between’ state that is often ignored and/or washed over because they lack the power and voice to plead their case as human beings. The song takes up this theme and tells it from the somber view of those who risk their lives, board ships and cross oceans in order to find a better life."

Pre-orders for Rituals of Power can be placed at the Season of Mist webstore.

Misery Index, Rituals of Power Artwork + Track Listing

Season of Mist
Season of Mist

01. "Universal Untruths" (2:35)
02. "Decline and Fall" (4:36)
03. "The Choir Invisible" (4:26)
04. "New Salem" (3:24)
05. "Hammering the Nails" (3:46)
06. "Rituals of Power" (5:20)
07. "They Always Come Back" (5:08)
08. "I Disavow" (4:21)
09. "Naysayer" (2:26)

The Best Death Metal Album of Each Year Since 1985


More From KZCD-FM