It's a great day for the doom metal genre as Swedish harbingers of riffs and sorrow, Candlemass, have released "The Omega Circle," the first new song off The Door to Doom and first with singer Johan Langquist since his appearance on the band's legendary 1986 debut.

The track opens with a glistening acoustic passage, much like the beginning of "Solitude," the opening track off Epicus Doomicus Metallicus all those years ago, except this new song closes out the record. "The Omega Circle" is episodic with atmospheric rises and falls guiding the ever-constant feeling of gloom. Check it out below.

Adding to the highlight that is Langquist's long-awaited return is a guest solo from Black Sabbath rifflord Tony Iommi on "Astorolus - The Great Octopus," one of the eight songs that make up The Door to Doom. "That he would even consider playing on one of my songs is a dream come true. I feel very blessed, and I tell you…to keep my mouth shut for a couple of months about it has been horrible," bassist and founder Leif Edling told us in a recent interview. "I just wanted to scream from the rooftops!"

The album will be released on Feb. 22 through Napalm Records and pre-orders can be placed at the label's webstore.

Candlemass, The Door to Doom Artwork + Track Listing

Napalm Records
Napalm Records

01. Splendor Demon Majesty
02. Under the Ocean
03. Astorolus - The Great Octopus (feat. Tony Iommi)
04. Bridge of the Blind
05. Death's Wheel
06. Black Trinity
07. House of Doom
08. The Omega Circle

See Candlemass in the Top 25 Doom Albums of All Time

More From KZCD-FM