Coheed and Cambria are keeping up their description as one of the most detail-oriented bands in rock. The group’s latest winding tale is titled ‘The Afterman: Ascension,’ and now carries an Oct. 9 release date.


The group, who are known for their intricate storytelling and tying together themes through discs, add another chapter to their career with this nine-track effort.

Some fans have already caught onto ‘Key Entity Extraction I: Domino the Destitute,’ which has been floating around on the Internet over the past week. There are three other ‘Key Entity Extraction’ movements within the record, as ‘Hollywood the Cracked,’ ‘Vic the Butcher,’ and ‘Evagria the Faithful,’ run in succession later in the disc.

For those who want to get a little more in-depth with Coheed and Cambria (which is definitely part of their lure), there are plenty of deluxe packages, with things like a ‘The Afterman’ hard cover book, demos and unreleased material from the sessions, an ‘On the Road’ documentary DVD, a VIP tour laminate, a metal medallion with a certificate, and digital downloads of both the ‘Ascension’ (Oct. 9) and ‘Descension’ (Feb. ’13) portions of ‘The Afterman’ story as part of the extra packaging. Visit here for deluxe package details, or get your name in to pre-order the disc without any of the bonuses here.

Watch Coheed and Cambria’s ‘Domino the Destitute’ Trailer

Coheed and Cambria’s ‘The Afterman; Ascension’ Track Listing:

1. ‘The Hollow’
2. ‘Key Entity Extraction I: Domino the Destitute’
3. ‘The Aftermath’
4. ‘Mothers of Men’
5. ‘Goodnight, Fair Lady’
6. ‘Key Entity Extraction II: Hollywood the Cracked’
7. ‘Key Entity Extraction III: Vic the Butcher’
8. ‘Key Entity Extraction IV: Evagria the Faithful’
9. ‘Subtraction’

More From KZCD-FM