After years of laying down killer low end for Pantera, Down and Kill Devil Hill, the legendary Rex Brown has completed his first solo album. As you might expect, the disc, titled Smoke On This, is full of swagger, and Loudwire is thrilled to team up with Rex Brown to exclusively premiere the lyric video for his song "Crossing Lines" and bring you the first look at the track listing and artwork for the Smoke On This.

This bluesy, Zeppelin-esque rocker chugs along with a slow-moving groove that just won't quit. "Give it up, give all, sweet nothings / Give it up, give it all for free / You can take it back, give it back, remember / You crossed that line with me," cautions Brown to a temptress in the song.

"Crossing Lines" is just part of a stellar debut solo effort for the bassist, which saw the musician pick up the guitar and sing as well. Brown worked on the effort with Nashville-based guitarist, songwriter and longtime friend Lance Harville and drummer Christopher Williams, while calling upon Caleb Sherman to produce.

“My motto these days is ‘Shake some s--t up,'" Brown declares about the album. “I’ve had my ups and downs, like anybody in this business. I wanted to feel like a true artist again, where I can write and record songs without worrying about any of the bulls--t."

He continues, “We're not going to necessarily cater to metal fans, but the guys who grew up with Pantera, a lot of them love all the same stuff that I grew up on, too. This is just something else I'm doing for fun, man. And musical freedom. Fun has to come into it or I'm not going to do it. I've had a tremendous career and now I feel like I’m thirty years old again. This has given me that freedom I needed. I’ve got so much more in me. I’m just getting my feet wet.”

The 11-song set is informed by the influences of Brown's career, rooted in a more classic rock and blues vibe, but one thing that carries over from the Pantera years is the attitude. You can check out the track listing and the artwork for the album below.

Rex Brown's Smoke On This album will be released by eOne on July 28. You can get your digital pre-orders here and for physical pre-orders with a variety of add-ons, click here.

Rex Brown, Smoke On This Artwork


Rex Brown, Smoke On This Track Listing

1. "Lone Rider"
2. "Crossing Lines"
3. "Buried Alive"
4. "Train Song"
5. "Get Yourself Alright"
6. "Fault Line"
7. "What Comes Around ..."
8. "Grace"
9. "So Into You"
10. "Best of Me"
11. "One of These Days"

Hear Rex Brown + Photographer Joe Giron on the Loudwire Podcast

Top 66 Hard Rock + Metal Bassists of All-Time

More From KZCD-FM