Red Hot Chili Peppers are nothing if not deliberate in the studio — they’ve taken at least three years between each album since ‘Blood Sugar Sex Magik,’ and their two most recent releases, ‘Stadium Arcadium’ and ‘I’m With You,’ were preceded by four- and five-year waits, respectively. Fans have probably been prepared to wait until 2016 for new material from the band — but the Peppers have some surprises in store.

Singer Anthony Kiedis teased the band’s upcoming onslaught of new material at a recent show, telling the audience, “We got a storm of seven-inches coming out over the next six months. Keep one eye open.” And he wasn’t kidding — drummer Chad Smith later told Twitter followers that the band has “at least 10″ B-sides from the ‘I’m With You’ sessions waiting to come out.

But that’s not all: As Flea tweeted, RHCP have “been writing stuff while touring,” and they plan to “put out 18 new songs over the next 6 months on 7 inch and digi.” It all adds up to a veritable bounty of new material for fans who’ve grown accustomed to long silences.

The upcoming singles will fit in with a rather frantic spurt of creative activity in the wake of 2011′s ‘I’m With You,’ including the descriptively titled ’2011 Live EP’ and subsequent ‘We Salute You‘ covers EP. On top of that, RHCP have tour dates scheduled well into November. Not bad for a band that will celebrate its 30th anniversary next year.

More From KZCD-FM