Brazilian metal legends Sepultura are readying their 14th studio album since launching their career with Morbid Visions 30 years ago. The new record will arrive on Jan. 13, 2017 through Nuclear Blast under the title of Machine Messiah, with a central theme running through its 10 tracks.

"The main inspiration around Machine Messiah is the robotization of our society nowadays," said guitarist Andreas Kisser about their Kens Bogren (Opeth, Amon Amarth, Katatonia) produced album. He continued, "The concept of a God Machine who created humanity and now it seems that this cycle is closing itself, returning to the starting point. We came from machines and we are going back to where we came from. The messiah, when he returns, will be a robot, or a humanoid, our bio-mechanical savior."

As for the compelling artwork, Kisser explained, "I found the work of Camille Della Rosa during some research I was doing to look for alternative artists to work on the cover of our new album. I had the concept in my mind and the name of the album, Machine Messiah, but that didn’t matter much since I was looking for different styles and ideas, different artists. When I saw her paintings I was really impressed by her style, full of colors and meaning, very unique, and alive! She comes from the Philippines, a place where we performed some years ago and we could feel the intensity of their culture, very powerful! She has that power in her paintings and drawings!"

Excited over the recording, Kisser concluded, "I’m very happy with everything about Machine Messiah, it is a Sepultura album but with a new direction and intensity, a new musical challenge, a step forward! Can’t wait to show the world our music for the new Messiah coming."

The track listing and a teaser video for the album can both be viewed directly below.

Sepultura, Machine Messiah Teaser

Sepultura, Machine Messiah Track Listing

01. "Machine Messiah"
02. "I Am The Enemy"
03. "Phantom Self"
04. "Alethea"
05. "Iceberg Dances"
06. "Sworn Oath"
07. "Resistant Parasites"
08. "Silent Violence"
09. "Vandals Nest"
10. "Cyber God"

See Where Sepultura Ranks Among the Top 50 Hard Rock + Metal Bands of All Time

See Sepultura + More of the 10 Greatest Bands With No Original Members

More From KZCD-FM