Wovenwar, formed from the ashes of As I Lay Dying following Tim Lambesis' conviction for solicitation of murder, are returning with their sophomore record in 2016. Entitled Honor Is Dead with an Oct. 21 release on Metal Blade, the album continues in the new direction established to set the band apart from their past outfit, as indicated by the new single, "Censorship."

The music video (seen below) is entirely digitized, showing hologram-like screens floating in a cyber world full of black-and-white lines and shapes. Opening with an energetic snare roll, "Censorship" goes for the throat with guitar-swinging grooves and a visceral scream from frontman Shane Blay. Fans were quick to single out the notable lack of screaming on Wovenwar's debut and will be relieved to discover more shrieks and howls alternated with Blay's crisp, clean singing.

There's a clever push and pull to "Censorship," switching gears between stunted, rhythmic guitar work with perfect restraint behind the kit to give the track a feel of gears turning both clockwise and counterclockwise. As for the lyrics, Blay commented, "I knew I wanted to be more lyrically honest and blunt. I knew I wanted the lyrical scope to include more than just personal struggles. We opened the door to much bigger issues on this record, and I think the content forced my voice to be more dynamic."

"Writing lyrics in 2016, you can't help but notice real world issues that are happening all around us," the singer added. "The political circus, terrorism, hate crimes, injustice. All were lyrical fodder for this record, along with my personal struggles."

Pre-orders for Wovenwar's Honor Is Dead can be placed at the Metal Blade webstore and the track listing can be seen below. Catch the band on tour supporting Soilwork starting Oct. 14. with a full list of stops found at our 2016 Guide to Rock + Metal Tours.

Wovenwar consists of As I Lay Dying's guitarists Nick Hipa and Phil Sgrosso, bassist Josh Gilbert and drummer Jordan Mancino who recruited Oh, Sleeper's Shane Blay as their vocalist. "We're definitely converting people and gaining new fans, though it is hard to completely replace in a year or two what we had built over the course of a decade with As I Lay Dying. All is good though, and we are very appreciative to have the ears of those who will lend them," remarked Hipa.

Wovenwar, "Censorship" Music Video

Wovenwar, Honor Is Dead Track Listing

01. “Confession”
02. “Censorship”
03. “Honor Is Dead”
04. “Lines in the Sand”
05. “World on Fire”
06. “Compass”
07. “Stones Thrown”
08. “Cascade”
09. “Silhouette”
10. “Bloodletter”
11. “130”

Best Metal Albums of 2016 (So Far)

10 Most Epic Stage Dives

More From KZCD-FM